Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Electrical 07' Radio Harness

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2007, 05:37 AM
mini_specter
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
07' Radio Harness

Anyone have any luck finding a radio wiring harness for the 2007 MINI? or is the radio connection the same as last years in regards to buying a harness to plug and play into a new radio? Thanks

Old 08-08-2007, 07:16 AM
STLMINI
6th Gear
I'm no techie but how do you expect to put a new radio in an 07? With the new center stack I though it was impossible.

Old 08-08-2007, 08:42 AM
mini_specter
1st Gear
Good point as I know the radio is now integrated as part of the speedo. I'm not exactly sure yet as I'm waiting to get my MINI. I'm thinking maybe it would be possible to yank the CD player out as it's below the speedo and fabricate some type of trim around it.

Old 08-08-2007, 10:51 AM
oPossum
1st Gear
The connector on the radio is the same as the older cars.

Old 08-12-2007, 03:03 PM
MotorMouth
6th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The stock CD player is fine. Plays MP3s and shows id tags. What more do you need?

Old 08-12-2007, 04:29 PM
msh441
6th Gear
It wouldn't be too difficult for some manufacturer to build a harness to plug in between the stock head and harness, bypassing the stock stereo (and CD player if you so desired) while still retaining the OBC function and display. There just has to be enough demand to warrant the development and production... which is probably unlikly.

I like the front set up on the Hi-Fi pack. Nice sound imaging and clarity. Respectible bass up front. The rears however, seem a little bit muddy and when pushed at higher volumes, it amplifies these weaknesses. The rears just become muddled and overall clarity suffers.