R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

R60 Is this a good order of improvement?

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2015, 07:42 AM
Shane Wendel
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Is this a good order of improvement?

I'm fairly new to the Mini world and tuning/performance in general, but this car is so freaking fun I'm getting addicted to tinkering with it.

I can only spend so much money a month, so improving the performance of my All4 (bought pre-owned, 62K mi) is going to have to happen in waves. I don't want to go super-crazy, just a decent improvement and I want to do as much of the work myself as possible. How does this sound for an order of operations?
  1. Plugs and Coils
  2. Sway bar and strut tower brace
  3. Cold Air Intake
  4. FMIC
  5. Catback Exhaust
  6. Stage 1 Tune (or JB+)
  7. Sprint Booster or D1 7-drive

Thanks in advance for the help and advice!

Old 09-17-2015, 11:20 AM
CooperT
3rd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
The best thing to do since it has 62k miles on it, would be to walnut blast the intake valves. The rest of your list sounds pretty good and in pretty good order. I've been researching the same thing for my All4. If you haven't dropped the run flats, that would be another thing I'd consider as run flats are way too bouncy.

http://www.bimmerhelp.info/DIY_N54_Valve_Blast.html

Since these are direct injection engines, the intake valves can build up with a ton of carbon restricting airflow.

For intake, I'd stick with a dry panel replacement. That way you aren't sucking in hot air due to an open airbox. And a dry panel can flow a little more than stock.

Old 09-17-2015, 11:31 AM
Shane Wendel
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by CooperT