R60 :: Countryman Talk (2010-2015) R60 Cooper and Cooper S hatchback discussion NOT REPAIR RELATED Discussions.

R60 Oil Change Fiasco!

Old 08-30-2015, 07:18 AM
shark715
6th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Oil Change Fiasco!

Let me start off by saying although I'm not a professional mechanic, I have decades of experience doing DIY repairs and maintenance to to all sorts of vehicles, and I've literally done hundreds of oil changes on my vehicles as well as friend's vehicles. The only incident I've ever had prior to this was stripping the threads on an oil pan when I was young and assumed that "if tight is good, tighter is better" :-)

This is my first DIY on change on the Countryman as we are now out of the free maintenance period. Before I started the job I did watch the oil change video several times that Sweet Pea posted elsewhere here and on Youtube, and it's just about as clear and concise as it can be.

But dang am I struggling with getting the oil filter cap off and on!

I struggled to get it off...had no problem getting it loose, but then it just did not want to come out. There's not much maneuvering space in there. Kept running back in the house to watch Sweet Pea's video looking for a clue.

And I struggled even longer getting it back on. Just could not get it in the right position for it to correctly start threading. Finally thought I had it, and even used a torgue wrench to make sure I tightened it the right amount.

Started the car, and for the first few seconds everything seemed good, but then got a oil pressure warning message.

So now there's oil all over the place around the filter, and a couple of quarts if not more on the garage floor!

There must be some sort of trick to getting the filter cover lined up and threaded properly. What is it?

Old 08-30-2015, 08:08 AM
gjxj
4th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
suspect the cap is damaged or the oring is damaged or displaced. The way that oring is configured it should not need to be torqued to seal.