R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 BSH Torque Arm Re-Engineered

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2017, 04:43 AM
Gipper
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
BSH Torque Arm Re-Engineered

I added the NM torque arm inserts and was somewhat underwhelmed. To be honest, I couldn't tell a difference in how the car felt. I saw the BSH torque arm and I thought "Hmmmmm...", but I read the horror stories about vibration so I stayed away. Well, one came up for sale used, so I thought "What the heck?" and I bought it.

Now I'm not an engineer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once, so I looked at the BSH arm and thought that the issue was probably with the solid small end. If I could only get some rubber damping in there it might work...

So, I drilled out the small end to 1/2" and used an angle grinder to take off the shoulders (pictures #1 & 2). Then, I inserted a section of 1/2" heater hose in the end and got some rubber washers from Lowe's (picture #3). The bolt fits very snug in the heater hose and I greased it up to help it articulate. The hose is compressed tightly by the bolt and rides on the shoulder so hopefully it does not disintegrate. I was only able to get 3 rubber washers to fit in the space once occupied by the shoulders(picture #4).

Now, I never tried the BSH arm as was, trusting the harsh reviews, but I can tell you what it is like now. Idle - car seems louder, so there is more vibration, but there are no rattles or tingly steering wheel, so the vibrations are sound only and not tactile. Driving around, there is quite a difference. Throttle inputs are immediate, and torque steer is eliminated, even when accelerating hard out of a corner. Shifting is much improved and the entire car feels a lot more solid. No vibrations anywhere in the rev range. I love it.