R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Weird noise when driving

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2015, 10:13 AM
rob&JCW
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weird noise when driving

Hey peeps,

My name is Robert and I own a 2007 Mini Cooper JCW. I'm new to this whole forum thing. Note that I was having this problem a couple months back and everytime I'd do a full oil change or even add a quart the noise would go away.

I recently got my Thermostat changed along with the hose. So no more coolant leak, that's a great feeling.

Yesterday morning and today as I turn on the Mini a let it warm up, I give it a reverse and start to drive as I drive off I notice this weird rattle noise and NO it does not sound like the timing chain. This is when I'm driving than once my engine is pretty warm the sound goes away. This noise appears to come out when in acceleration. Mainly on 1st-3rd gear.

As I'm driving on the freeway the noise completely stops. Like I said up above this happened a couple months back when doing my oil changes. You could hear the noise on the passenger side maybe a little towards the middle of the dashboard, but not on my side.

I've read about the timing chain and the "death rattle" and I believe that I have the same issue but this problem only happens when I'm "short" on oil and once I do a full change or even add a quart or 2 the noise seems to go away.

Mini owners what can it be?? Any help it would be awesome

Old 07-29-2015, 01:48 PM
ECSTuning
Platinum Sponsor
Received 1,966 Likes on 1,766 Posts