R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Slow Acceleration?

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2015, 07:01 PM
daidaibi
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Slow Acceleration?

I recently purchased a 2012 (non-S) Hatchback with low mileage. I love it so far. The only problem that I found, after taking two 1.5 hour commutes, is that the car seems to accelerate very slowly.

After stopping at traffic light, I need to depress the pedal hard to make the car accelerate at a similar speed as most other cars on the road do. The tachometer will go up to about 3.5. The enging makes loud, pushing noise. It feels like the car is begging for more power to start.

When on highway, sometimes when I try to accelerate, the car won't respond for about 5 seconds. Then the tachometer will go swiftly from 2.5 to 4, and the car accelerates.

I am a soft driver and usually don't depress the gas pedal very hard. I'm not sure if that's why the car doesn't accelerate as smoothly as other brands do. I'm hoping this is an inherent characteristic of the car and does not indicate any major problem. No indicator lights light up so far.

I know very little about cars and don't know if this is something I should worry about. Thoughts?

Old 06-29-2015, 07:15 PM
AZdsrt
6th Gear
Received 57 Likes on 53 Posts
Since you have a '12, and if you're under 50k miles, you might have some warranty left. If so, have a dealer mess with it. Otherwise, without a code thrown, it's anyones guess..

Old 06-30-2015, 05:48 AM
JABowders
6th Gear
Received 177 Likes on 166 Posts
I'll ask the hard questions...

What type of service history do you have? Have you been a regular for proper maintenance?