R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 car not starting no engine codes

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2015, 02:44 PM
shanksamillion
3rd Gear
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
car not starting no engine codes

Engine turns over but not so much as a hiccup. Starter just keeps turning engine. The only code was P0962 which is a bad solenoid in valve body of transmission. This shouldn't stop the engine from starting, right? I went through the on board computer and found no cc-id codes. Not sure where to begin. I guess I can check for spark and fuel but if there was a problem with spark or fuel should the computer throw some codes? I don't get it. Any suggestions? By the way the battery is still quite new.

Last edited by shanksamillion; 03-06-2015 at 03:39 PM.
Old 03-06-2015, 04:14 PM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
I'm no mechanic but if you have a severe enough tranny fault I assume the ECU tells the car not to start. Back when I was just starting to drive cars didn't act so damn smart.

Old 03-07-2015, 05:50 PM
afadeev
6th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by shanksamillion
Engine turns over but not so much as a hiccup. Starter just keeps turning engine. The only code was P0962 which is a bad solenoid in valve body of transmission. This shouldn't stop the engine from starting, right? I went through the on board computer and found no cc-id codes. Not sure where to begin. I guess I can check for spark and fuel but if there was a problem with spark or fuel should the computer throw some codes? I don't get it. Any suggestions? By the way the battery is still quite new.
Computer wont throw any new codes until after the engine fires up.

Spark is easy to check - pull the plug, and you will (likely) find flooded cylinders that need to be aired out. Then crank and verify spark, or lack thereof.