R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Excellent Mods for R56 "Justa" Cooper

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2014, 08:34 PM
jh2002
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Excellent Mods for R56 "Justa" Cooper

I know the Sprint Booster 2 has been around for many years and is old news, but I just installed one. It's absolutely brilliant!!! The car feels like there has been an instant 75 bhp increase. Although, I know the SB doesn't increase power in reality, but makes power more available when you want it. Sprint Booster has completely transformed the car. Shifting is smoother and the power curve comes lower down in the revs all the way up. Hard to believe I've been driving the car for 7 years without having installed the SB. I never realized what a difference the stock lag in the electronic pedal had on performance.

The DDMWorks intake, which I've had for awhile sounds more lively and smoother grunt. It feels and sounds a little like my old BMW 2002. The throttle response from the Sprint Booster and the intake sound makes the car feel just a wee bit like a Works model, but obviously without the massive power output. It's hard to completely explain. I don't know why MINI didn't put the throttle response of the SB in the stock design. I suppose my recent spark plug change and renewed front brakes also help make the car feel really tight and fun again. The Sprint Booster 2 is the best "bolt on" mod I've ever bought. A huge performance difference with an install time of about 5 minutes.

Before the Sprint Booster, my Cooper had been putting out approximately 142 bhp with the DDMWorks Intake. Now I can feel the power being used correctly with throttle lag gone. Very chuffed with my 2007 Cooper again. Same feel as when I bought my first MINI in 2003, which was a Cooper S in stock form. :-)