R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 "Secret Compartment"

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2012, 01:01 PM
MINICoupes
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by BMBULBE
Sometimes the compatment's door gets "stickey." I suggest you push on it, and then release pressure quickly--almost like you are giving it CPR. It may take a few tries but that should pop it open.

Anyone Have any luck getting rid of the "Stickey" compartment door? Mine has a a brushed aluminum cover on it and I can push it a few times and it will finally open but would love to have it as smooth as some that I have seen. I have looked for points to apply a lubricant but the working parts of the hinge seem to be deeper inside the dash. Thanks!

Old 12-22-2012, 01:29 PM
Angib
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by NoHoR56
What part of "secret" in "secret compartment" don't you understand?
Not me - I'm an expert in that secret. I had a base R57 for three years which over here comes without the secret compartment so now that I've stepped up to a Chili pack car, I have owned it for three months and still never once remembered to open it......

Old 12-25-2012, 02:44 PM
MINICoupes
1st Gear
Originally Posted by MINICoupes
Anyone Have any luck getting rid of the "Stickey" compartment door? Mine has a a brushed aluminum cover on it and I can push it a few times and it will finally open but would love to have it as smooth as some that I have seen. I have looked for points to apply a lubricant but the working parts of the hinge seem to be deeper inside the dash. Thanks!