R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 "Loose" steering issue - mechanic didn't find anything

Old 08-30-2012, 04:50 PM
LeftyClayJar
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"Loose" steering issue - mechanic didn't find anything

Well, I'm feeling very frustrated (and a bit anxious not knowing what's wrong).

About 3 weeks ago I noticed my 2007 MC's steering wasn't quite right - I had to turn the wheel quite a bit further to make turns. I've been driving MINIs for 5 years, so I'm familiar with the wonderful "go-kart" steering. When I searched online and browsed the forums the descriptions that sounded closest were talking about worn control arm bushings, but that seemed odd considering Caspian isn't quite to 25,000 miles and doesn't do anything like track driving.

I made an appointment with the local mechanic I've taken my MINIs to before, and he said the computer wasn't giving any codes and the physical parts looked fine. He said the tires were showing their age (I did notice they would need replaced soon) and suggested new rubber and an alignment. So, I got the new tires on Monday, and just got back from picking it up after getting the alignment through his shop. . . and it's still not right. Unfortunately I didn't make myself clear when I made the appointment that I would like him to make sure the steering was tight again after the alignment *sigh*