R56 :: Hatch Talk (2007+) MINI Cooper and Cooper S (R56) hatchback discussion.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

R56 Im in the market... care to enlighten me on a few things?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2008, 10:12 PM
MilesToEmpty
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im in the market... care to enlighten me on a few things?

Hello everyone!

Few things about me. Im 20, Im a college student still living at home, and I have a full time job at an IT company as a Customer Engineer. I make $15 an hour and always get 10hours of overtime a week.

I own a 2003 Jeep Rubicon, this was a gift to me when I turned 18 and received my Eagle Scout. It has AC and is my Daily driver. The Jeep gets about 17mpg and is a blast to own. But it gets 17mpg... and is a brutal ride. Noisy, slow, rough... I would sell it but my dad and I both use is during the winter, we have a cabin in WV and sometimes need it on the weekend, but always do in the winter to get to it.

I also own a 1998 Subaru Impreza. Its fully built (over the past 2 years.) I have about 20k in this car, not including what I paid for the car. It is very fast, yet noisy (grapefruit launcher) and rough (coilovers.) It does not have AC.

So I began to go car shopping last month. I was in the 15k price range and was looking at the Yaris and things of that nature. However all these cars lacked something. On the way home from work my coworker and I stopped at Mini, and test drove a basic cooper and a S. Instantly fell in love, but not with the price tag

So as of right now Im stuck between a VW Golf at 28mpg, Toyota Corolla at 35mpg, or a Mini at 35mpg.

I dont need the Sport model... but Im also trying to consider resale here.

I dont want to go over 25k on a car, and the Mini's warranty is a big deal to me since I do ALOT of driving for work, but can limit myself to 10-12k a year on a certain car.