Stock Problems/Issues Discussions related to warranty related issues and repairs, or other problems with the OEM parts and software for MINI Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S(R56), and Cabrio (R57).

Rough idle/misfire pls help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2016, 03:53 PM
Gearheadjeff
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rough idle/misfire pls help!!!

okay so i put my car into front end service mode i had to replace the auxiliary water pump for the turbo and then the seals for the oil cooler/water cooler housing the thing the oil filter is attached to. well upon putting everything....EVERYTHING back together i go to start my car and i have a really rough horrible idle. i replaced oil and oil filter and did a coolant flush aswell my battery was disconnected aswell for almost a full day when i was making the repair. someone please help im not really a mini mechanic and this is my first mini but i do know my stuff.

Old 05-04-2016, 02:31 PM
Gearheadjeff
1st Gear
What sensor unplugged could cause this? Could a bad fuse or relay cause this? I've retraced my steps and don't see anything I've done wrong.

Old 05-05-2016, 02:16 AM
neonsteve
4th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You may have accidentally popped off the vacuum hose that connects to the bronze fitting towards the bottom of the vacuum pump..? On my R55 there isn't any clip or anything holding that hose on, it's just a friction fit.

Old 05-05-2016, 09:16 AM
Gearheadjeff
1st Gear
Just checked and unfortunately that's not the problem it seemed to be connected so I'm still stumped on what's going on. It has to be somthing that disconnect and on the front side of the motor

Old 05-05-2016, 10:43 AM
neonsteve
4th Gear
Oil filler cap, maybe even the dipstick? Seems like an air leak of some sort. Does it sound like it's sucking air anywhere or louder anywhere? Didn't leave anything stuffed in the intake, like a towel to prevent debris from falling into the turbo? Make sure all sensors are reconnected.