R55 :: Clubman Talk (2008+) Discussions revolving around the extended wheelbase Clubman (R55) model.

R55 Clubman '13 run flats

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2016, 02:51 PM
Jeffob5
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Clubman '13 run flats

I know there has probably been a lot written about run flat tires. I did quick search here but didn't find what I was looking for so I am going to ask for probably the umteenth time.

Recently bought a very low mileage Clubman S '13 with Bond Package that was demo, less than 4K on the odo still. I am new to the brand as well, first MINI and first set of run flats. I love the car and realize that it not designed to step over bumps but rather to corner flat over smooth pavement. Having said that, how much of the 'bumpyness' I experience over small imperfections is from the stiffness of the run flats vs the lack of suspension travel?

I definitely will consider getting rid of the run flats in favor of standard tires if there would be a significant improvement without compromising handling. Also, how wide could I go on stock 17" wheels without creating any rubbing issues?

Thanks

Old 01-29-2016, 03:15 PM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts
Yes, ditch the run flats. You'll notice a vast improvement. Good thread here with some recommendations for all season replacements. Another good thread HERE.

888.280.7799 | 6am - 5pm PST
Old 01-30-2016, 09:39 AM
hsautocrosser
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Old 02-10-2016, 09:04 AM
bugeye1031
Received 80 Likes on 75 Posts
I changed from run flats on my '09 Clubman and it improved the ride considerably. The "crashing" over expansion joints remained, though....I had passengers scream because of it....they had never ridden in a MINI and weren't car people, but just the same. I finally switched to coilovers and things got much better.

Also, I added a space saver spare but have never used it.