R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 R53 Track/AutoX/Weekend Project

Old 09-25-2016, 06:44 PM
jveramini
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
R53 Track/AutoX/Weekend Project

Hi all,

I come from the R56 side of NAM because I have fallen in love with the supercharger noise and car culture. My current mini is a 2012 R56 Cooper S Automatic w/paddles with all JCW mods, sway bars, springs, and a downpipe. I recently had my first ever TD in August and my first AutoX event today. I am hooked on the motorsport world but I feel that if I keep this up, it will be very taxing on my current daily driver.

Since I have no knowledge in depth of the R53 world, I was wondering if you guys would recommend it as a track/autoX project...still legal to drive to and from the track and casually on weekends....not putting on 56 miles every day going to work.

The catch is that in order to go for the R53 and mod it, my piggy bank only allows for the R53 (high mileage, good conditions, low price, etc.) and a boring to death daily driver ....which I don't mind because the AutoX and Track Day events are picking up the pace, which would mean more smiles per gallon inside the R53.

So what do you guys think, is the R53 a reliable/cheap track/autoX/weekender car? I say reliable because my mechanical knowledge is very small (I do want to get more into doing things by myself, having a second car would allow me to do so) and I say cheap because we are under a budget here ....or is the R53 going to bring all kinds of problems and get super expensive real quick ? (my pressure pump failed at 18,000miles in my current mini...not fun.)

Thanks in advance!!

Old 09-25-2016, 08:02 PM
Grey Lightning
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts