R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 A shout out for Stiegemeyer supercharger rebuilding

Old 09-16-2016, 08:20 PM
David.R53
5th Gear
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
A shout out for Stiegemeyer supercharger rebuilding

A story with a happy ending for a change... ending the week on a high note!

I've been chasing some noises for a couple of years - working through my rocker arm problem, then a cam problem, but never quite got rid of the noise. Finally convinced myself it was the supercharger and pulled it off and sent it in to Steiegemeyer Porting. $795 for full rebuild. Added $100 for porting service . They promised to check the PTO gears and would replace them if the existing gears weren't perfect. Nicely coated gears.

Got it back and all buttoned up, and it sounds awesome now.
All borla exhaust and supercharger winding up when I get on it. No more clatter and rattle.

Recognize that I am biased in my perceptions, but I think that the bottom end is definitely stronger, and of course it just sings at higher rpms.

It also doesn't bog down with the AC on at idle anymore. So, for those of you with cars that struggle with the AC at idle, consider that as a possible sign you need a supercharger rebuild.

Last edited by David.R53; 09-17-2016 at 07:27 AM.
Old 09-17-2016, 06:57 AM
Shawnnn
5th Gear
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
That's where I sent mine to get rebuilt 3 years ago.

Didn't notice any difference in power, I didnt opt for the porting, but maybe I should have

The service was great too. Very fast turn around, they called me when they received it, and started working on it immediately.

Old 09-17-2016, 08:55 AM
Fir3Chi3f
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wholy crud! I was in St Charles some time ago! Had no idea there was a place like this out there. Bookmarked Stiegemeier's site for when I get mine redone

Old 11-22-2016, 01:22 PM
GoThingNC
4th Gear
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Sweet !!