R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Water, Water, Water!

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2015, 11:47 AM
USNAE2
2nd Gear
Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts
Water, Water, Water!

Ok, I had the dreaded 3rd brake like issue and read the posts about the diode repair. Not an issue since I was an Aviation Electrician in the Navy for 9 years and have been in the electrical/electronic field ever since.

Lifted the rug and could not for the life of me find the diode!

However, there was ALOT of water under the carpet and it actually went all the way to the back. Luckily, I was able to mess with this at work yesterday
I went through almost a whole roll of industrial towels drying up what I could and left it open in the sun (since our parking is gated).
After a little while the brake light went out! So definitely had to do with moisture. Which is good since I could not find the white box with the diode anywhere!

My question is...where in the hell did all of the water come from! I don't have a sun roof and never have had water inside through the windows or such. Are there outside drains that reroute water underneath the car that may be clogged or something? I ran the AC at like 65 when I had the doors open and rug up to see if I could see dripping because of the amount of water it should have been obvious.

I can only surmise that it may have been from car washes and rain?

Are there outside drains that route the water??? If so, where? That way I can see if they are clogged because it was a pain to dry up all of that water and would rather not do it again.

TIA!

Old 10-01-2015, 12:21 PM
PelicanParts.com
Vendor
Received 62 Likes on 59 Posts
Good NAM thread here, look at post #10. Also, some very good info in this NAM thread here and I linked directly to a post that lists some good suggestions for you to possibly help determine where it's coming from.

888.280.7799 | 6am - 5pm PST
Old 10-01-2015, 02:25 PM
USNAE2
2nd Gear