R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 What I learned from dropping the subframe

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 06:12 PM
minipopkart
Neutral
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
What I learned from dropping the subframe

So first off I'd like to mention that I am not mechanic. I am a software engineer by trade. Getting dirty and grimy on hot summer weekends is not my idea of fun. However, with all off the reference material available to me on the internet (and the Bentley manual) I thought I'd tackle this job and see how far I could go. In retrospect, it was fun getting to know my MINI on a more intimate level.

But in all seriousness, this post is for those individuals that will be or that have been, thinking about lowering the subframe in order to perform some maintenance on their MINI. As for my MINI, I needed to change the LCA bushings on my 2006 MCS; that was what triggered this personal undertaking. And although I was eager to get this maintenance performed, the MINI is my second car....that allowed me to have it up on 4 jack stands for about 4 weeks...going at my own pace.

When all is said and done, it looks like I may need an alignment. I have one more tire to put on tonight before I can take it off the stands and give it a spin. Nonetheless, here are some things that I learned.

What I learned (The Good):
  • The internet has a lot of good info on dropping the subframe on the MINI. Watch every video several times to know what steps you're performing and when.
  • Google, search and study the pictures that show what you need to do.
  • Disposable gloves helped keep my hand somewhat clean.
  • A pair of mechanics gloves helped provide more torque when needed because it reduced some of the pain when using a wrench.
  • You need a 13mm stubby, ratcheted wrench to remove the pinch collar nut on the lower steering column.
  • PB Blaster works great!