R50/R53 :: Hatch Talk (2002-2006) Cooper (R50) and Cooper S (R53) hatchback discussion.

R50/53 Low speed fan resistor

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2012, 06:23 AM
wickershaw
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low speed fan resistor

Hi, newbie here. First post.

I'm not new to this format. I recently completed a 427 Cobra replica and could not have done it without the forum that went with it.

My question is the low speed fan resistor. I know enough to use search and it seems there are two options. Replace the fan and its components or wire in a module that contains the resistor. I'd like to ask if folks would share their experiences with each. At the moment, I'm not sure I want to put my '06 R53 into service mode although it's probably within my ability. It also seems that the new fan has the same heat sink problem and will probably fail pronto. Is the wired in module a better solution?

Many thanks.

Old 06-06-2012, 06:48 AM
Martin Brenneke
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Buy the resistor that is listed on variour threads and put it in yourself. Will cost less than $50. and will take about an hour to do without taking the car apart. I and many many others have done this and it does a good job of fixing the problem and should not let the problem crop up again in the future.

Old 06-06-2012, 07:18 AM
autoxjohn
2nd Gear
Originally Posted by Martin Brenneke
Buy the resistor that is listed on variour threads and put it in yourself. Will cost less than $50. and will take about an hour to do without taking the car apart. I and many many others have done this and it does a good job of fixing the problem and should not let the problem crop up again in the future.
Or for $75 and an hour and a half you can just swap out the whole fan unit - mine went 89k miles on the oem fan - if it goes another 90k on this one that'd be fine with me.

Old 06-06-2012, 08:04 AM
ZippyNH
6th Gear
Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
My solution was to use an exact fit aftermart fan...no issues.