How To Exterior :: Power folding mirror installation

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2007, 03:05 AM
Eric_Rowland
OVERDRIVE
Received 43 Likes on 38 Posts
Exterior :: Power folding mirror installation

Power folding mirror installation
(this is my first time, so don’t expect OctaneGuy quality!)

Power folding mirrors purchased from newministuff.com (placed appropriately in the 'gadgets and cool stuff' section.
They also have a DIY section (with better pictures)

Tools needed:
5mm allen wrench
T-10, T-20, T-30 torx bits
8mm socket
7/64ths drill bit (IIRC)
Wire cutters
Soldering iron (optional)
Jeweler’s screwdrivers (optional)

I received a set of folding mirrors, without the mirror glass or actuator motor, and with a length of wire added to the power actuator motor.
(pardon the pictures – my camera was crap)

<stock_mirror_front>

<power_mirror_front>

Start by removing the stock mirror covers
I used the ‘butter knife method’ from MINI2 – tilt mirror full down, then lift tabs, starting with the one closest to the car. Butter knives work well to keep the tabs up. After third tab is up, cover tilts back and snaps off.

Next, remove mirror from car
Fold mirror in to access the three 5mm bolts
After the bolts are free, lift mirror off and disconnect by squeezing sides of car side connector
<car side connector>

(yes, the OCD will take this opportunity to clean underneath the mirror gaskets...)

Now the fun begins!
edit: See Matt's mirror removal method - much easier than mine!
You must remove the mirror from the housing. (this may be the toughest part of the project)
If you have heated mirrors, remove the two small connectors on the outer edge of the mirror.
The mirror snaps on to the actuator by 8 small tabs.
If you peer and squint, you MAY be able to see them through the holes in the back side of the housing

Here is what the mirror looks like when it is removed
<glass_back>

Here is an attempt to show the tabs on the mirror