General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Leatherette v leather

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2014, 07:41 AM
Speedster
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Leatherette v leather

I'm doing my research before purchasing my first Mini and this forum is giving me a wealth of information. I'm looking to purchase a used R56 and most have leatherette. I have no experience with leatherette, only leather. Should I hold out for leather or is that just not that important?

Old 07-23-2014, 07:48 AM
rckrzy1
6th Gear
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
I owned a leather car once, never again. After a few years the leather was like saggy and out of shape, just from being a natural product. It stays colder and hotter longer and does not breathe. My wifes car is over 3 years old and the leatherette still looks like new.

Old 07-23-2014, 08:28 AM
beedeejay
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I suggest not getting overly focused on what the seat material is. The most important consideration is to sit in the seat and see if it is comfortable to YOU.

I ordered my R56 with the cloth sport seats. They breathe well in both hot and cold weather (although I also have the heated seat option). The bolsters are just a bit too snug for me - but I have a cushion I use that makes it much better for me for long trips.

When the time comes to replace my current MINI I lean towards something cloth for the central seat surface. However, I’m going to sit in as many different types of seats as possible to find what seems to fit me the best.

Old 07-23-2014, 08:52 AM
richardsperry
6th Gear
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Another + for cloth.

Old 07-23-2014, 09:20 AM
Speedster
1st Gear