Electrical For discussions regarding wiring up electrical modifications such as radar detectors, brake light mods, power sockets, and driving lights in Clubman (R55), Cooper and Cooper S (R56), and Cabrio (R57) MINIs.

Electrical Factory Driving Lights Rewire

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2014, 06:45 PM
Wingnut135
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Factory Driving Lights Rewire

I'm curious if anyone's ever rewired their official MINI driving lights. As they're installed and wired now, they only work with the high beams on. I'd like to use them at any time without the high beams. I've got the installation guide with the wiring diagram as well as the Bentley manual. It doesn't look like it'd be much to wire it up (I'm an aircraft electrician by trade).

Any thoughts?

Wingnut

Old 08-28-2014, 03:26 PM
Eric_Rowland
OVERDRIVE
Received 43 Likes on 38 Posts
Thoughts - you put other drivers at risk when running with separate switches for high beams/driving lights as you need to turn off two different sets of lights, one not being on the steering column. It's illegal for that reason.
That said, yes it's easy to rewire.

Old 08-29-2014, 09:47 AM
RockAZ
4th Gear
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
It is a real hassle to turn off both a set of driving lights and to drop the high beams quickly in an oncoming car situation, long time to take your eyes off the road. Leaving your main headlights on low beam while you have the driving lights on does simplify the situation but you lose the effect of having all available light on the road. On my off road 4x4's this never became an issue because there are no oncoming drivers out in the boonies.