Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R56) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain Why does everyone seem to hate on the Alta CAI?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2012, 06:38 PM
Nealuss
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why does everyone seem to hate on the Alta CAI?

I'm still new to the Mini scene, so I'm not quite sure about this one. Why does everyone seem to bash the Alta CAI? I have had one for a couple of months now and it seems fine to me. It looks very clean, easy install, and seems well made. I just want to know what I am missing here because if there is some fatal flaw here I want to know about it. If it's just because somebody got a few more hp from a different set up when they were sitting still on a dyno with the only added airflow coming from a big shop fan, then who cares. Unless you are on a track competing for a paycheck then you will notice absolutely nothing different from any other intake. 3hp isn't enough to feel on a butt dyno, either.

I realize this may come across as a rant when typed, but I assure you, I'm not ranting. I'm just trying to get some info. So, fellow motorers, why no love for the Alta?

Old 02-04-2012, 07:24 PM
Melangell
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It's not a cold air intake (no matter that many seem to hate Alta)... Pulling air from the engine compartment is worse than factory. DoS and DDM are the only true CAI's....

Old 02-04-2012, 08:15 PM
mini4tide
3rd Gear
Consider it an HAI...

Old 02-04-2012, 09:02 PM
drewstermalloy
6th Gear
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
I just call it an "intake." I don't believe it is either a HAI or a true CAI. But, if you open the hood scoop, the intake temps are significantly lower.

Either way it sounds awesome, if that's what you're going for. Even CAI's won't make noticeable power unless you're tuned.

Old 02-05-2012, 05:06 AM
Nealuss
3rd Gear