Drivetrain RaceChip (Pro): a workable ECU tune solution (and possible group buy)?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2012, 08:50 PM
All3MiniS
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RaceChip (Pro): a workable ECU tune solution (and possible group buy)?

There has been a bit of discussion about this in the "thread for newly found countryman parts accessories", so I thought at this point it might warrant its own thread.

Admittedly, I am new to the whole tuning game, especially when it comes to turbo cars. From my research I have seen that ECU remaps, tunes, flashes, etc. are a pretty standard starting point for increasing performance. It seems pretty well documented that there are substantial gains to be had, and when approached correctly, not a terrible amount of risk.

Some of these risks are acceptable, but others I am not so willing to bear. For instance, I am willing to accept the risk that my investment does not pay of with the gains I am hoping for, but I am not prepared to void any or all of my warranty. Specifically with the Countryman, there is the added risk that to reprogram an ECU it must be removed from the car, shipped to a tuner (or brought in person to a limited number of qualified shops), physically broken open, and then shipped back once the tune is complete. To me, and I imagine others, this is not a particularly appealing proposition.

Enter the RaceChip Pro (and possibly other similar devices from their competitors). I am in no way shape or form qualified to discuss the technical aspects of how this works and how it would compare to a tune by a qualified technician with expertise in turbo systems and Minis. However I will make a quick comparison based on my understanding.

Expected HP/TQ Gains:
ECU Remap: ~14-40%
RaceChip: 17%(base model max)- 26%(pro model max)
RaceChip page for R60 claims

Cost:
ECU Remap: $500-700
RaceChip: $480(base)-$680 (Pro)

Pros:
ECU Remap:
  1. Expert tuning custom to your car
  2. Adjust specifically for other mods