Let's talk about brakes....

Search this Thread

Old 07-22-2016, 08:46 AM
Richard_rsp
2nd Gear
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
Let's talk about brakes....

So I have a 16' Cooper Hardtop F56 (non-s) and absolutely love everything.... but the brakes. While they appear to stop the car okay, they just don't have the solid (or even comfortable) feel that my 2013 Justa had. While I am not a newbie to cars (or MINIs) in general, this is really the first time that I have felt so strongly about needing better brakes. So how would you recommend to upgrade the Non-S F56 brakes?

The cheapest (and my preferred way) is through upgraded pads/rotors. While it appears EBC has some decent pads, I can't seem to find anything but stock rotors for the base model (plenty for the S or JCW, though). While I do not track the car, I do autocross (non-competitively), and it is my understanding that higher compound brakes will warp the stock rotors (correct?). So I am a bit nervous going with a higher compound (Red Stuff) without changing rotors.

I am also aware of the JCW Brake Kit. While this sounds awesome, its a bit expensive for my budget and also would require upgrading my 16" wheels to clear the brakes- not really feasible.

So are there any more options? Maybe a cheaper "Cooper S" upgrade or are the S models the same as my Cooper?

Anybody have any experience with F56 brakes?

Old 07-22-2016, 03:04 PM
Mini Mania
Banned
Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Richard_rsp
So I have a 16' Cooper Hardtop F56 (non-s) and absolutely love everything.... but the brakes. While they appear to stop the car okay, they just don't have the solid (or even comfortable) feel that my 2013 Justa had. While I am not a newbie to cars (or MINIs) in general, this is really the first time that I have felt so strongly about needing better brakes. So how would you recommend to upgrade the Non-S F56 brakes?