Classic Mini Talk Interested in the Classic Mini? Discuss the Classic and its variants here!

New (Old) Mini won't start.

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2015, 06:58 AM
Sunks000
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New (Old) Mini won't start.

Hello, I purchased a classic mini last week from a seller in Florida. The car started and drove fine while it was there. The car has now been shipped to my house in Chicago and I received it last night. The engine will crank and then sputter out and die within seconds of starting. I believe it may have something to do with the drastically temperature drop between the two locations.

Any suggestions on getting it running? Thanks

Old 01-26-2015, 07:05 AM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Received 570 Likes on 486 Posts
I'm not a mechanic. Wondering if when you saw the car did it get started cold or was it already warmed up and then restarted? Seller playing games or a straight shooter? I suppose lots of things could have happened during shipping as well. Bad gas, sediment kicked up during trip, weaker battery and cold temps as you suggest.

I think you need to provide a lot more detail for the mechanically inclined to help you out.

Old 01-26-2015, 07:51 AM
Tio Barry
4th Gear
Received 23 Likes on 19 Posts
Welcome to the world of distributors and timing lights and points and dwell meters. Get youself a service manual. It will pay for itself a thousand times and will be an intimate companion on long frustrating nights.

Old 01-26-2015, 07:58 AM
Minnie.the.Moocher
OVERDRIVE
Originally Posted by Tio Barry
Welcome to the world of distributors and timing lights and points and dwell meters. Get youself a service manual. It will pay for itself a thousand times and will be an intimate companion on long frustrating nights.
Those were the days when someone like me had a shot at fixing his own car!

Old 01-26-2015, 09:31 AM
Sunks000
Neutral
Originally Posted by Minnie.the.Moocher