How To Maintenance :: Changing FRONT Brake Pads for Beginners!

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2005, 03:54 AM
OctaneGuy
Vendor & Moderator :: MINI Camera and Video & c3 club forum
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Maintenance :: Changing FRONT Brake Pads for Beginners!

CAUTION: PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK
As with all mods or DIY articles, the information provided here is without warranty. I am providing the steps for your information, but beware that problems may occur and that you accept full responsibility. Should you encounter any problems, please take a deep breath and post your problems to this thread and we will all do our best to assist you. I am not a professional mechanic. In fact, this was my first time working on brakes, but I spent many weeks researching this subject.

MINI Brake Pad Installation
Changing your brake pads is a very rewarding DIY project. This tutorial focuses specifically on giving you the complete picture on how to replace your OEM pads and Brake Pad sensor for the front axle. After you've done this yourself, changing the rotors or upgrading to aftermarket pads is a breeze!

Background Story
It all started a few weeks ago when I noticed my brakes were noisier than usual. They squealed every time I came to a stop. I wondered if my brakes pads were worn. But how would I know? I found a BMW measuring tool in my Bentley manual that you just insert into a hole in your wheel, and it tells you how much pad is left. A visit to the local MINI dealer said they could order it for $45. It wasn't outrageously expensive, but I decided to learn more before buying this tool.

Then I noticed a new light was on, on my dash. I have the OEM navigation system, and next to my seat belt warning light, was a yellow symbol. It was a circle with 3 little lines around it. The manual said it was the Brake Pad wear sensor.