Drivetrain (Cooper S) MINI Cooper S (R53) intakes, exhausts, pulleys, headers, throttle bodies, and any other modifications to the Cooper S drivetrain.

Drivetrain 6-speed locked in gear when temperature below freezing

Old 01-14-2013, 07:31 PM
lamontcg
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6-speed locked in gear when temperature below freezing

I have had a repeated issue when parking my car leaving the transmission in first gear and finding the next morning that if the temperature has dropped below freezing that it is not possible to pull the shifter out of gear.
I initially suspected frozen water on the underside of the car but it even happens when it has been dry for days.
The only fix has been to either to push the clutch in and let the heat from the engine warm the trans -- or to wait for the outside temperature to warm up.
This is not an issue of simply thick trans oil when the car is cold as I have been driving manual transmission cars for 30 years.
Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Old 01-14-2013, 11:00 PM
Grahams315
2nd Gear
Could be a corroded boot on the shifter cables allowing moisture in and freezing over night. I had a similar issuie and new cables fixed it. If you want you can pull your intake and inspect the boots where the cables attatch to the transmission.

Old 01-15-2013, 01:00 PM
leaf_fan_1988
4th Gear
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
My car was harder to shift when it was cold, never stuck though. I pulled out the intake and sprayed the shifter linkage with rust check (WD40) will work too, and then threw on some silicone grease.

My e-brake freezes in the cold. I have to rock the car back and forth to fix that.

Old 01-15-2013, 03:45 PM
Da_Ghost
5th Gear
Received 56 Likes on 44 Posts
Like Grahams315, if the shifter cables boots (under air filter box) are cracked, it can allow moisture/water to get in and freeze the cables in place. If it goes away when warm, chances are that it's the cause. Add cold trans oil and it's even worse.