Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

"Low Tire" Warning

Old 10-05-2009, 11:29 AM
Dimples
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
"Low Tire" Warning

Hey guys,

I have no experience with cars that monitor the tires or with run flats.

I have a 2009 Cooper S with run flats and this morning when I started it, it told me "Low Tire." I got out and looked, but you can't really see on run flats is what I've heard. I went the gas station and check the pressure. All 4 read about 34/36. My manual says they should be 38/40 so I added some air and reset the monitor per the instructions.

My question is, how do I know the difference between normal pressure loss and something else? I didn't see a nail, but I also didn't know what tire to check. Is there a different warning for a flat tire? or a punctured tire?

Thanks in advance.

Old 10-05-2009, 11:35 AM
cmcveay
3rd Gear
"Dimples",
Although I didn't experience an actual flat tire with my RF's, a friend did and the alert was the same as the low pressure. When he checked, the tire had 0 psi. Visually, he couldn't tell the difference. When this question was asked in other posts, many indicated that more than "moderate" temp changes would cause the system to alert as well. When I rotated my tires, I got the alert because it knew there was something "wrong" and when I put on the new tires, it did the same. After a reset, it went away and didn't come back.

Old 10-05-2009, 11:36 AM
Dimples
1st Gear
Thank you, cmcveay.

I guess I will wait a few days and see if the warning comes back up.

Old 10-05-2009, 11:37 AM
brightwhite
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The BMW/Mini dealer told me that this isn't really a sensor system like TPMS that detects the pressure in the tire, but instead it detects changes in the circumference.

Is this the case with the R56?

Old 10-05-2009, 11:40 AM
Benibiker
6th Gear
Received 36 Likes on 25 Posts