General MINI Talk Shared experiences, motoring minutes, and other general MINI-related discussion that applies to all MINIs, regardless of model, year or trim.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

MANUAL SHIFTING HELP

Old 04-09-2008, 09:18 PM
jorr19
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MANUAL SHIFTING HELP

i am new to a manual and i would like any advice on how to better drive the car. when should i shift? how do i know if im being too rough on the clutch? whats the best way to shift for optimum mileage? any opinions or advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Old 04-09-2008, 10:02 PM
MCS07MGM
2nd Gear
A good friend as a tutor in an empty parking lot works ...

Originally Posted by jorr19
i am new to a manual and i would like any advice on how to better drive the car. when should i shift? how do i know if im being too rough on the clutch? whats the best way to shift for optimum mileage? any opinions or advice would be appreciated, thanks.
Get a friend to tutor you ... a big empty parking lot works great ... avoids rude gestures, blaring horns, and creating unsafe on-the-road conditions. I did that with my daughter with her Honda Civic years ago ... since then, she's been through manual gear box-equipped 528i, R53, her hubby's M3, and current Audi S4 -- the V8 variant.

You can often tell when you're rough on the clutch if you feel shudders, hear clanks, grinding noises, or repeated stalling ... I seem to get better mileage when shifts occur at 2500 to 3000 ... with an occasional burst to 5500 or so when situation demands doing so ... watching the 'instant mileage' on the tach is also a good idea as you can immediately see the effects of too much gas pedal or not.

Good luck ... wls

Last edited by MCS07MGM; 04-09-2008 at 10:40 PM.
Old 04-09-2008, 10:07 PM
checkercoop
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Well I know for me the day I took delivery was the day I first drove stick...I would highly recommend watch this video...plus the guy is in a MINI haha