1st Gear New members: make an initial post and introduce yourself as you shift from Neutral to First Gear. Current members: meet some of the new members.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How will my driving style change in my new Mini?

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2015, 12:42 PM
Olenska
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How will my driving style change in my new Mini?

Fun question, but genuinely asked: How will my driving style change in my new Mini? Will I start avoiding streets with speed bumps? Always park out of the way to avoid dings? Will I start speeding through curves?

I've been chugging along in my 2004 Scion xB for nearly 12 years now. My new Hardtop should arrive this week!

Old 09-13-2015, 04:26 PM
jacobj
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Just got my mini a few weeks ago, and all of this applies to me. Speed bumps are not too big of an issue, but I have been doing my best to avoid the very low spots in the road. My workplace has some pretty nasty dips at the entrances to the parking lot, and I just be sure to go very slow in/out of work.

Hope you enjoy your mini!

Old 09-13-2015, 04:44 PM
Fly'n Brick
6th Gear
Received 367 Likes on 311 Posts
Try going thru deep dips as you describe, traffic allowing, by entering them diagonally. The 'nose down' entry into the dip will be greatly mitigated.
Defensive parking is a learned attribute, works most of the time except when an idiot parks next to you and does their worst.
Driving habits may not change. You're either attentive or not and new habits take a while to internalize. Best thing to do is to look at every other car on the road as being intent only on doing you harm.

Old 09-13-2015, 04:47 PM
jacobj
1st Gear
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Originally Posted by Fly'n Brick
Try going thru deep dips as you describe, traffic allowing, by entering them diagonally. The 'nose down' entry into the dip will be greatly mitigated.